Life, the Universe, and Everything

I found my way to this post listing the forty-two best lines from Douglas Adam’s, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy this morning and thought it was pretty awesome.

Big E and I are both fans of Douglas Adams and I actually threw him a Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy themed party this past March for his forty-second birthday.  Forty-two isn’t normally a milestone year, but Little F was due the day before Big E’s fortieth birthday.  Needless to say there was no big celebration that year.  The next year I was planning a retirement party for a co-worker and Little F’s first birthday party, so once again Big E got pushed to the side.  But once I realized exactly which birthday he was having this year I decided there was no better time for a big party than the year Big E became the answer to life, the universe, and everything.

I’m not the best party-thrower, but I think everyone had a good time.  The theme wasn’t the easiest to work with either, but I did the best I could:

Babel Fish

Little F eyeing the mice cakes

And the best part, which I don’t have any pictures of, I made a cake shaped like the Earth which we blew up at exactly 11:46.  I was hoping for a Gallagher-esque spray of cake and icing, but what we got was pretty good too.  A word of advice to anyone looking to blow up a cake with fire crackers: Don’t waste your time with anything smaller than an M-80, go for the gusto.

Leave a Reply

