A Done Deal… Almost

The single-girl house

Yesterday Big E and I went to the title company and signed all the paperwork for the sale of our house.  The buyer signs her paperwork on Tuesday but until that check hits my bank account I’m remaining cautiously optimistic.  I don’t want anything to jinx this.

 

Today we were over there for the last time building up the dirt line on one side of the foundation where water was known to seep in and getting the last of our belongings off the back patio.

It’s all a little bittersweet.  This was my single-girl house that I only expected to own for a short time.  This was what really kept me tied to one place after my years of wandering, even when I would have rather been wandering.  This is where Big E and I had our courtship through renovation: the two of us replacing the roof over the screened in porch the first month we were dating, Big E installing a ceiling fan in the bedroom, Big E refinishing the hardwood floors one weekend while I was out-of-town.  This was where Big E and I returned after our wedding. Little F learned to crawl and walk on those floors.  This was home.  This was our home.

Little F, Lucy, and Big E on our last trip to the old house

The house had been vacant since we moved.  The walls had been repainted.  The stager had done her job very well and made the house feel welcoming, but not like our own.  It was full of strange furniture and art work that we never would have hung on the walls.  The last few times I was there it no longer felt like the backdrop to all of those life-changing events, it just felt like a nice, small house.  A line from an Indigo Girls cover of the Dire Straits song, “Romeo and Juliet” comes to mind: Now you just say, Romeo? I think I used to have a scene with him.

I hope the buyer enjoys her single-girl house.  Maybe she’ll meet the man (or woman) of her dreams while living there and start a family of her own.  Or maybe not.  I certainly realize that particular idea isn’t everyone’s vision for their future.  I wasn’t even sure it was my vision when I bought the house, but these days I’m quite happy it’s become my reality.

3 thoughts on “A Done Deal… Almost

  1. Having just bought our first house, it’s weird when I try to imagine the future and growing out of it. I know it’s going to happen one day, but it’s going to be hard. We’ve already had so many memories here! Good luck with the sale though, I hope everything goes through 🙂

  2. Thank you, Courtney! I try not to get too attached to “things” but a house is certainly more than the average item. I have to remind myself that what made that house a home is already here in our new house, and that makes it easier.

  3. Pingback: It’s Called Gratitude | KayEmDoubleu

Leave a Reply

